When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony? Date, odds, finalists for 2019 award presentation | Sporting News

The 2019 Heisman race took multiple turns throughout the season, but it resolved with a clear frontrunner.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow wasn’t on most people’s preseason Heisman radars, but he ended as the clear favorite.

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young, one of four finalists along with Burrow, may have become the first defensive player to win the award since Charles Woodson in 1997. but a two-game suspension for accepting a loan derailed his candidacy.

Buckeyes quarterback Justin Fields will join his teammate, Young, at the ceremony. Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts rounds out the field, comprised entirely of players from playoff teams.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Heisman ceremony, including time, TV channel and betting odds for each of the four finalists.

MORE: Will Joe Burrow challenge O.J. Simpson’s record for most lopsided vote?

When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony 2019?

Date: Saturday, Dec. 14
Time: 8 p.m. ET
TV broadcast: ESPN
Location: New York City

The Heisman Trophy ceremony takes place Saturday, Dec. 14, a week after conference championship week. It has been held at PlayStation Theater in New York City since 2005. The winner is announced in a ceremony aired live on ESPN.

Heisman Trophy odds, finalists 2019

Player School Position Odds
Joe Burrow LSU QB -30000
Justin Fields Ohio State QB +2500
Chase Young Ohio State DE +3300
Jalen Hurts Oklahoma QB +3300

Joe Burrow, QB, LSU

Burrow arrived at LSU in 2018 after spending his first three college years at Ohio State. The Athens, Ohio, native had a solid junior year but broke out in 2019 to become the likely Heisman winner. Leading the Tigers to an undefeated season, Burrow completed 77.9 percent of his passes, earned 4,715 passing yards and paired 48 touchdowns with six interceptions.

No college quarterback since 2000 has had as many yards as Burrow with a completion percentage of 72 or higher. His performance will like result in a Heisman win Saturday and first-round selection in April’s NFL Draft.

Justin Fields, QB, Ohio State 

The three quarterback Heisman finalists are all transfers. Fields was a backup at Georgia as a freshman in 2018, joined the Buckeyes in January and received a waiver for immediate eligibility. He took advantage, putting up a 40-1 touchdown-interception ratio, accumulating 2,953 passing yards on a 67.5 completion percentage and scoring 10 more touchdowns with his legs.

Chase Young, DE, Ohio State

When he was on the field, Young tormented opposing offenses. The junior had 16.5 sacks and 21 tackles for loss, part of 44 total tackles. He forced seven fumbles and deflected three passes.

Young’s case for the Heisman would likely be much stronger if not for a two-game midseason suspension served for accepting a loan. Still, Young’s 16.5 sacks tie for eighth-most in a season since 2000. He will likely rise up the leaderboard during the College Football Playoff; the record for single-season sacks is 20, set by Elvis Dumervil for Louisville in 2000.

Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma

Hurts played in 42 games over three years at Alabama before transferring to Oklahoma for his final year of eligibility. It has worked out pretty well, as his Sooners are in the playoff but the Crimson Tide are left out.

Individually, Hurts unsurprisingly took well to the Big 12. He completed 71.8 percent of his passes, throwing for 3,634 yards, 32 touchdowns and seven interceptions. But against Burrow, who has better stats and an undefeated record compared to Oklahoma’s 12-1 campaign, Hurts is unlikely to win the trophy.

Where is the Heisman Trophy ceremony held?

The Heisman Trophy winner is announced at the PlayStation Theater, a concert venue in New York’s Times Square. The PlayStation Theater (formerly known as Nokia Theater Times Square and Best Buy Theater at various times) has hosted the Heisman ceremony since it was opened in 2005.

How does the Heisman voting process work?

The Heisman winner is selected by 870 media members from across the country. Each voter picks a first-, second- and third-place finisher. The number of finalists depends on the distribution of the vote beyond the top-three vote-getters; there have been as few as three and as many as six finalists in recent years.

This year, Heisman ballots were distributed Monday, Dec. 2, and were to be submitted by the following Monday, Dec. 9. Conference championships took place Dec. 6 and 7. 

Click Here: Spain Rugby Shop

Comments Off on When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony? Date, odds, finalists for 2019 award presentation | Sporting News