Daily Pro Wrestling History (09/27): Shinsuke Nakamura wins IWGP Heavyweight title


Wichita, Kansas:
– NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ede Virag defeated Wladek Zbyszko in 2 out of 3 falls


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– In a Death Match; Hard Boiled Haggerty beat Gene Kiniski for rights to AWA Tag Team Title (Haggerty chooses Bob Geigel as his new Championship partner)
– Mr. M beat Tiny Mills 
– Karl Krauser beat Frank Marconi
– Dale Lewis drew Bob Geigel


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Bob Geigel & Lee Henning defeated Ralph Bartleman & Thor Hagen
– Red Bastien fought Buddy Austin to a double-CO in two out of three falls
– United States Heavyweight Champion Pat O’Connor defeated Bob Geigel (sub. Bob Orton) in two out of three falls


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Black Angus defeated Lord Alfred Hayes
– Roger Kirby defeated Ricky Romero
– Mike George defeated Bob Orton via DQ
– Harley Race defeated Bob Brown in three falls

Nagoya, Japan:
– AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Shozo “Strong” Kobayashi
– In a Cage Match; Rusher Kimura beat Lars Anderson 
– Animal Hamaguchi beat Greg Gagne
– Bob Bruggers & Blackjack Mulligan beat Tadaharu Tanaka & Isamu Teranishi


West Palm Beach, Florida:
– NWA Title: Terry Funk DCOR Dusty Rhodes to retain title
– Bob Roop & Bob Orton, Jr. defeated Jack & Jerry Brisco 
– Hiro Matsuda defeated Mac McMinnes 
– Bob Orton, Sr. defeated Jan Nelson 
– Leon Ogle defeated Miguel Feliciano 
– Don Serrano & Beauregard defeated Tio Tio & Oki Shikina


Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
– Prof. Toru Tanaka & Mr. Fuji (w/ Freddie Blassie) defeated Larry Zbyzsko & Tony Garea to win the titles in a best 2 out of 3 falls match

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Dennis Condrey & Phil Hickerson beat Robert Gibson & Jerry Bryant
– Samoans Tio & Tapu beat Bill Dundee & Jimmy Garvin
– Southern Tag Champs Norvell Austin & Pat Barrett beat Mike Stark & Jerry Novak
– Mr. Wrestling beat Southern Champ Jimmy Valiant via DQ
– Bill Dundee won a “scaffold battle royal”


Roanoke, Virginia:
– Blackjack Mulligan Jr. (Barry Windham) fought Wayne Farris (Honky Tonk Man) to a double disqualification
– Dick the Bruiser defeated Kevin Sullivan
– John Studd and Kevin Sullivan defeated Blackjack Mulligan and Chief Jay Strongbow

Atlanta, Georgia:
– Tommy Rich defeated the Masked Superstar in a Texas Streetfight
– NWA World Champion Ric Flair defeated Mr. Wrestling II
– Michael Hayes & Otis Sistrunk (substituing for Kevin Von Erich) defeated Georgia Tag Team Champions Terry Gordy & Jimmy Snuka to win the championships in a No DQ Steel Cage match


Louisville, Kentucky:
– Dutch Mantell and Koko Ware defeated The Grapplers
– Bill Dundee and Bobby Eaton defeated Dennis Condrey and Buddy Landel by DQ
– The Fabulous Ones defeated the Assassins
– AWA Southern champ Jesse Ventura defeated Terry Taylor
– Austin Idol defeated Stan Hansen


Norfolk, Virginia:
– Bobby Eaton & Dennis Condrey defeated Ron Garvin & Starship Eagle
– NWA U.S. Champion Tully Blanchard defeated Dusty Rhodes via disqualification
– Ivan & Nikita Koloff defeated NWA Tag Team Champions Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson in a non-title steel cage match
– NWA World Champion Ric Flair fought Magnum TA to a 60-minute time-limit draw


Tulsa, Oklahoma:
– The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeated Eddie Gilbert & Sting to win the UWF World Tag Team Championship

Kansas City, Kansas:
– Marty Jannetty defeated Dave Peterson
– Sheik Abdullah defeated Tug Taylor
– Harley Race defeated TG Stone
– Ron Garvin and Bulldog Bob Brown defeated The Animal and Korstia  Korchenko
– Central States Champion Buzz Tyler fought Hacksaw Higgins to a time limit draw


Marietta, Georgia:
– In a Lumberjack Match, Bruiser Brody beat Abdullah The Butcher by countout
– Sgt. Slaughter beat Iron Sheik
– Midnight Rockers Marty Jannetty & Shawn Michaels beat Boris Zhukov & Soldat Ustinov to apparently win the AWA Tag Team Title   
  but the belts were returned to The Russians when it was revealed the wrong man was pinned
– In a Hair vs Mask match; Jerry Oates beat Mr Olympia and unmasked him as Jerry Stubbs

Greensboro, North Carolina:
– Kendall Windham & Lazortron defeated the MOD Squad
– Jimmy Garvin defeated Manny Fernandez
– Sting defeated Eddie Gilbert
– UWF World Champion Steve Williams defeated Black Bart
– NWA Tag Team Champion Ricky Morton defeated NWA US Tag Team Champion Bobby Eaton
– NWA Tag Team Champion Robert Gibson defeated NWA US Tag Team Champion Stan Lane via disqualification
– NWA World Champion Ron Garvin defeated Big Bubba
– Dusty Rhodes, NWA TV Champion Nikita Koloff, & the Road Warriors defeated Ric Flair, NWA US Champion Lex Luger, Arn Anderson, & Tully Blanchard in a steel cage match


Worcester, Massachusetts:
– Eddie Gilbert pinned the Cuban Assassin
– Tom Zenk pinned Norman
– Steve Williams pinned Mike Rotunda 
– Sid Vicious & Dan Spivey defeated Shane Douglas & Johnny Ace (w/ Jim Cornette) 
– Tommy Rich pinned Jack Victory (w/ Rip Morgan) 
– Bobby Eaton pinned NWA Tag Team Champion Michael Hayes 
– Road Warrior Animal pinned Rip Morgan (w/ Jack Victory) 
– Sting defeated NWA TV Champion the Great Muta via disqualification
– NWA World Champion Ric Flair pinned Terry Funk 


Marion, Ohio:
– Van Hammer pinned Terrence Taylor
– Tom Zenk pinned Oz (Kevin Nash)
– WCW World Tag Team Champions The Enforcers, Arn Anderson & Larry Zbyszko defeated Rick Steiner & Bill Kazmaier
– Brian Pillman pinned Johnny B. Badd
– WCW U.S. Tag Team Champions The Patriots, Todd Champion & Firebreaker Chip defeated Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin
– WCW World TV Champion Steve Austin fought Dustin Rhodes to a draw
– WCW World Champion Lex Luger pinned Barry Windham


Morristown, Tennessee:
– The Rock-n-Roll Express beat Mike Sampson & Robbie Eagle
– Killer Kyle beat Newton Steffey
– Brian Lee beat Paul Orndorff via DQ

Charleston, North Carolina:
– Marcus Alexander Bagwell, Van Hammer, & Erik Watts defeated Bobby Eaton, Diamond Dallas Page, & Vinnie Vegas
– Tom Zenk defeated Greg Valentine
– Dustin Rhodes defeated Dick Slater
– Brian Pillman defeated Brad Armstrong
– WCW TV Champion Ricky Steamboat defeated Steve Austin
– Barry Windham defeated the Barbarian via disqualification
– Scott Steiner defeated Arn Anderson
– WCW World Champion Ron Simmons & Nikita Koloff defeated Jake Roberts & Cactus Jack


WWF Monday Night Raw:
– Shawn Michaels was stripped of the Intercontinental championship
– Razor Ramon pinned Rick Martel to win the vacant title


Osaka, Japan:
– Norio Honaga defeated Wild Pegasus (Chris Benoit) to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title in a tournament final


– Harlem Heat defeated WCW World Tag Team Champions Marcus Alexander Bagwell & Scotty Riggs to win the titles


WWF Breakdown: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada:
– The Rock defeated Ken Shamrock and Mankind in a steel cage match 
– Owen Hart pinned Edge 
– The Undertaker and Kane defeated WWF World Champion Steve Austin 


– Shinsuke Nakamura beat Togi Makabe in Kobe to win the vacant IWGP title


TNA Impact:
– Samoa Joe defeated Mr. Anderson to win the TNA TV Title
– Tara defeated ODB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *