NCAA releases first Division I, II, III Wrestling Awards Standings of the 2015 season

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA has released the initial standings for the 2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships.

The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the 2012 wrestling championships. The three awards, given at each division, honor the Most Dominant Wrestler as well as the student-athletes that have accumulated the most falls and the most tech falls throughout the course of the regular and postseasons.

For falls and tech falls to be counted towards a student-athletes total they must come against opponents in the same division. Ties in the two categories are broken based on the aggregate time.

In the initial standings for falls of the 2015 season, 2014 winner Taylor Walsh (165 pounds) of Indiana leads Division I with 13 pins, followed closely by heavyweight Joe Stolfi of Bucknell with 12 victories via pin.

The Division II standings have Lake Erie’s 197-pounder Evan Rosborough in front by two falls with nine over heavyweight Andy Welton of Mercyhurst.

Division III features the all divisions leader as heavyweight Cody Lovejoy of Ohio Northern has accumulated 15 pins. Seven wrestlers have already earned 10 pins with freshman 133-pounder DJ Tirelli of Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) trailing Lovejoy by one pin.

Four wrestlers have reached five tech falls in Division I, but Logan Storley of Minnesota (174 pounds) takes the top spot this week with his coming in the lowest accumulated time of 28:01. Rounding out the top group are Navy’s Peyton Walsh (165 pounds), Illinois’ Isaiah Martinez (157 pounds) and Lock Haven’s Fred Garcia (184 pounds). Last year’s champion, Logan Stieber of Ohio State, is currently sitting at three tech falls.

Division II features a three-way tie of wrestlers with three falls, led by Indianapolis’ 133-pounder Nick Crume. His falls have come in an aggregate time of 11:57, which is 1:48 quicker than 197-pounder Helmut Rentschler of Truman and 2:01 ahead of 157-pounder Francis Mizia of Mercyhurst.

Nathaniel Giorgio from Coast Guard is the sole leader in the early going in Division III with seven tech falls, while Michael Polizzi of Stevens Institute of Technology has earned six this season.

The Most Dominant Wrestler standings are calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing that number by the total number of matches wrestled. Points per match are awarded as follows. A 12-match minimum is required to be eligible for the Most Dominant Award.

* Fall, forfeit, injury default or DQ = 6 points (-6 points for a loss)
* Tech falls = 5 points (-5 points for a loss)
* Major decision = 4 points (-4 points for a loss)
* Decision = 3 points (-3 points for a loss)

The initial Most Dominant Wrestler standings will be released later this season in order to allow wrestlers to achieve the 12-match minimum that is required to be eligible for the standings.

A complete listing of this week’s NCAA Wrestling Awards standings can be found here:

2015 NCAA Wrestling Awards Standings

View More College News

Click Here: All Blacks Rugby Jersey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *